US-Guided Saphenous Block in Knee OA

NCT ID
NCT07868770
Registry status
Not yet recruiting
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Not applicable
Sponsor
Gaziler Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Education and Research Hospital
Conditions
Gonarthrosis, Knee Osteoarthritis, Knee Pain, Osteoarthritis, Knee

Overview

ClinicalTrials.gov lists this study as Not yet recruiting.

Official title: Evaluation of the Clinical and Sonographic Effects of Ultrasound-Guided Saphenous Nerve Block in Knee Osteoarthritis

Enrollment: 60 participants (Estimated).

What is being studied

  • Intervention: Adrenal Cortex Hormones
  • Intervention: Amides
  • Intervention: Amines
  • Intervention: Anilides
  • Intervention: Aniline Compounds
  • Intervention: Bupivacaine
  • Intervention: Fused-Ring Compounds
  • Other: Home-Based Exercise Program
  • Intervention: Hormones
  • Intervention: Hormones, Hormone Substitutes, and Hormone Antagonists
  • Drug: Intra-articular corticosteroid injection
  • Intervention: Organic Chemicals
  • Intervention: Polycyclic Compounds
  • Intervention: Pregnadienes
  • Intervention: Pregnanes
  • Intervention: Steroids
  • Intervention: Steroids, Fluorinated
  • Intervention: Triamcinolone
  • Intervention: Triamcinolone Acetonide
  • Procedure: Ultrasound-Guided High-Volume Saphenous Nerve Block

Who may be eligible

Ages
40 Years to 75 Years
Sex
All
Healthy volunteers accepted
No

ClinicalTrials.gov lists the following eligibility criteria.

Inclusion Criteria: * Patients aged between 40 and 75 years * Diagnosis of primary knee osteoarthritis according to the American College of Rheumatology (ACR) criteria * Kellgren-Lawrence grade 2 or 3 knee osteoarthritis on weight-bearing radiographs * Moderate to severe knee pain (Visual Analog Scale score ≥ 4/10) lasting for at least 3 months * Willingness and ability to participate in the study and sign the written informed consent form Exclusion Criteria: * Kellgren-Lawrence grade 1 or grade 4 knee osteoarthritis * History of intra-articular corticosteroid injection in the target knee within the past 3 months * History of intra-articular hyaluronic acid or platelet-rich plasma (PRP) injection in the target knee within the past 6 months * Previous knee surgery or arthroplasty on the target knee * Secondary knee osteoarthritis (e.g., post-traumatic, inflammatory arthritis, gout, septic arthritis) * Severe systemic diseases, active infection, or localized skin infection at the injection site * Coagulopathy or ongoing anticoagulant therapy * Known allergy or hypersensitivity to local anesthetics, triamcinolone acetonide, or bupivacaine * Severe cognitive impairment or inability to comply with follow-up protocols and home exercises

Study locations

1 study location is listed.

Site recruitment status is not specified in the registry data for these locations.

Countries: Turkey (Türkiye)

Sample of listed locations

  • Ankara Gaziler Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Training and Research Hospital — Ankara, 06800, Turkey (Türkiye) — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data

Study details

Start date
October 2, 2026
Primary completion date
April 30, 2027
Completion date
November 30, 2027
First posted
October 9, 2026

Source and update information

Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
NCT ID
NCT07868770
Registry last updated
October 9, 2026
QualifiedStudies registry data refreshed
October 12, 2026
QualifiedStudies record fetched
October 12, 2026

View NCT07868770 on ClinicalTrials.gov

Trial information can change. Confirm current study details with the study team or the registry.

About joining clinical research

Find clinical trials you may match with

QualifiedStudies can help you search for research opportunities related to your health. Availability of this specific study through QualifiedStudies has not been established.

Find clinical trials you may match with | Arthritis studies | Knee Pain studies | Clinical trial FAQ