The Effect of Preoperative Pelvic Floor Physical Therapy (Prehabilitation) on Postoperative Pain Following Endometriosis Surgery: A Randomized Controlled Trial
- NCT ID
- NCT07827794
- Registry status
- Not yet recruiting
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Not applicable
- Sponsor
- University of Alberta
- Conditions
- Chronic Pelvic Pain, Endometriosis
Overview
ClinicalTrials.gov lists this study as Not yet recruiting.
Enrollment: 150 participants (Estimated).
What is being studied
- Intervention: Exercise
- Intervention: Health Care Facilities Workforce and Services
- Intervention: Health Services
- Intervention: Motor Activity
- Intervention: Movement
- Intervention: Musculoskeletal and Neural Physiological Phenomena
- Intervention: Musculoskeletal Physiological Phenomena
- Intervention: Patient Care
- Intervention: Perioperative Care
- Intervention: Preoperative Exercise
- Other: Structured pre-operative pelvic floor physiotherapy program (prehabilitation)
- Intervention: Surgical Procedures, Operative
- Intervention: Therapeutics
Who may be eligible
- Ages
- 18 Years to 50 Years
- Sex
- Female
- Healthy volunteers accepted
- No
ClinicalTrials.gov lists the following eligibility criteria.
Inclusion Criteria:
* Presence of chronic pelvic pain (\>6 months)
* Diagnosis of endometriosis (clinical, laparoscopic, or imaging-based diagnosis)
* Scheduled for fertility-sparing endometriosis surgery or hysterectomy with excision of endometriosis
Exclusion Criteria:
* Undergoing gynecologic surgery in the absence of pelvic pain
* Patients undergoing laparotomy or conversion to laparotomy
* Have undergone endometriosis related surgery in the past 12 months
* Have engaged in pelvic physiotherapy in the past 12 months
* Non-English speakers (if validated tools unavailable)
* Active malignancy
* Post-menopausal
* Prior oophorectomy
* Prior hysterectomy
Study locations
1 study location is listed.
Site recruitment status is not specified in the registry data for these locations.
Countries: Canada
- Alberta, Canada: 1
Sample of listed locations
- University of Alberta — Edmonton, Alberta, Canada — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data
Study details
- Start date
- March 1, 2027
- Primary completion date
- March 1, 2030
- Completion date
- September 1, 2030
- First posted
- September 18, 2026
- Collaborators
- Women and Children's Health Research Institute, Canada
Source and update information
- Source
- ClinicalTrials.gov
- NCT ID
- NCT07827794
- Registry last updated
- September 18, 2026
- QualifiedStudies registry data refreshed
- September 28, 2026
- QualifiedStudies record fetched
- September 28, 2026
View NCT07827794 on ClinicalTrials.gov
Trial information can change. Confirm current study details with the study team or the registry.
About joining clinical research
Find clinical trials you may match with
QualifiedStudies can help you search for research opportunities related to your health. Availability of this specific study through QualifiedStudies has not been established.
Find clinical trials you may match with | Chronic Pain studies | Clinical trial FAQ