HPTC Versus AFSM in Diabetic Foot Ulcers

NCT ID
NCT07781917
Registry status
Recruiting
Study type
Not specified in the registry data
Phase
Not applicable
Sponsor
Adichunchanagiri Institute of Medical Sciences, B G Nagara

Overview

ClinicalTrials.gov lists this study as Recruiting.

Enrollment: 120 participants (Estimated).

What is being studied

No interventions are listed in the registry data.

Who may be eligible

Ages
Not specified in the registry data
Sex
Not specified in the registry data
Healthy volunteers accepted
No

ClinicalTrials.gov lists the following eligibility criteria.

Inclusion Criteria: * Subjects must be at least 18 years of age or older. * Subjects must have a diagnosis of type 1 or 2 diabetes mellitus. * Diabetic foot ulcer located below the malleoli, Wagner Grade 1 or 2 (University of Texas Grade 1-2), without exposed bone. * Target ulcer present for a minimum of 4 weeks, with post-debridement area of approximately 5-20 cm². * Failure to achieve ≥30% ulcer-area reduction during the run-in period, or an equivalent documented waiver (Section 12.1). * Adequate circulation to the affected foot: ankle-brachial index (ABI) between 0.7 and 1.3 (or alternative vascular criteria per protocol). * Glycated haemoglobin (HbA1c) ≤ 12%. * The subject must consent to using the prescribed off-loading method for the duration of the study. * The subject must agree to attend the scheduled study visits required by the protocol. * The subject must be willing and able to participate in the informed consent process. * Patients must have read and signed the IEC-approved ICF before screening procedures are undertaken. Exclusion Criteria: * A subject known to have a life expectancy of less than 6 months. * If the target ulcer is infected or if there is cellulitis in the surrounding skin. * Presence of osteomyelitis or exposed bone, probes to bone or joint capsule on investigator's exam or radiographic evidence; Wagner Grade ≥3. * A subject that has an infection in the target ulcer that requires systemic antibiotic therapy. * A subject receiving immunosuppressants (including systemic corticosteroids at doses greater than 10 mg of prednisone per day or equivalent) or cytotoxic chemotherapy. * Topical application of steroids to the ulcer surface within one month of initial screening. * A subject with a previous partial amputation on the affected foot, if the resulting deformity impedes proper offloading of the target ulcer. * A subject with glycated haemoglobin (HbA1c) greater than 12% at or within 3 months of the initial screening visit. * A subject with an acute Charcot foot, or an inactive Charcot foot that impedes proper offloading of the target ulcer. * Women who are pregnant or considering becoming pregnant within the next 6 months. * A subject with end-stage renal disease requiring dialysis; active malignancy. * A subject who participated in a clinical trial involving treatment with an investigational product within the previous 30 days. * A subject who, in the opinion of the investigator, has a medical or psychological condition that may interfere with study assessments. * A subject treated with hyperbaric oxygen therapy or a cellular and/or tissue product (CTP) in the 30 days prior to the initial screening visit. * Known hypersensitivity to HPTC or its components; known fish allergy/hypersensitivity for participants who would be allocated to AFSM.

Study locations

4 study locations are listed.

Site recruitment status is not specified in the registry data for these locations.

Countries: Bangladesh, India

  • Karnataka, India: 2

Sample of listed locations

  • EKAGRA Health — Dhaka, 1209, Bangladesh — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data
  • National Institute of Burn & Plastic Surgery — Dhaka, 1000, Bangladesh — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data
  • Adichunchanagiri Institute of Medical Sciences — Mandya, Karnataka, 571448, India — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data
  • Mysore Medical College and Research Institute — Mysore, Karnataka, 570001, India — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data

Study details

Start date
August 28, 2026
Primary completion date
February 1, 2027
First posted
August 24, 2026

Source and update information

Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
NCT ID
NCT07781917
Registry last updated
September 10, 2026
QualifiedStudies registry data refreshed
September 21, 2026

View NCT07781917 on ClinicalTrials.gov

Trial information can change. Confirm current study details with the study team or the registry.

About joining clinical research

Find clinical trials you may match with

QualifiedStudies can help you search for research opportunities related to your health. Availability of this specific study through QualifiedStudies has not been established.

Find clinical trials you may match with | Diabetic Neuropathy studies | Clinical trial FAQ