PNS to Improve Vascular Function and Limb Health in Veterans
- NCT ID
- NCT07696988
- Registry status
- Not yet recruiting
- Study type
- Not specified in the registry data
- Phase
- Not applicable
- Sponsor
- VA Office of Research and Development
Overview
ClinicalTrials.gov lists this study as Not yet recruiting.
Enrollment: 42 participants (Estimated).
What is being studied
No interventions are listed in the registry data.
Who may be eligible
- Ages
- Not specified in the registry data
- Sex
- Not specified in the registry data
- Healthy volunteers accepted
- Yes
ClinicalTrials.gov lists the following eligibility criteria.
Inclusion Criteria:
Inclusion Criteria - All Participants:
* English-speaking
* Veteran
Inclusion Criteria - Diabetic Peripheral Neuropathy (DPN) Participants:
* Confirmed diagnosis of type 1 or type 2 diabetes mellitus for at least 5 years
* Clinical signs and/or symptoms consistent with diabetic peripheral neuropathy Or confirmation of neuropathy via physical exam
Inclusion Criteria - Lower Limb Amputees:
* Unilateral transtibial or transfemoral amputation
* Medically stable for at least 3 months
* For the designated subset of the limb-loss cohort (n = 6): implanted with C-FINEs on the sciatic and/or tibial nerves
Exclusion Criteria:
Exclusion Criteria - All Participants:
* Severe neurological disorders impairing ambulation
* Visual or hearing impairments interfering with study participation
* Cardiovascular or respiratory conditions posing risk during participation
* Cognitive or psychiatric conditions compromising informed consent
* Participation in other clinical trials interfering with outcomes
* Pregnancy
* History of photosensitivity or known sensitivity to laser light
Additional Exclusion Criteria - Amputees:
* Active skin breakdown or infection at residual limb
* Significant phantom or residual limb pain interfering with study procedures
* Bilateral lower-limb amputation
Study locations
1 study location is listed.
Site recruitment status is not specified in the registry data for these locations.
Countries: United States
- Ohio, United States: 1
Sample of listed locations
- Louis Stokes VA Medical Center, Cleveland, OH — Cleveland, Ohio, 44106-1702, United States — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data
Study details
- Start date
- November 2, 2026
- Primary completion date
- May 30, 2030
- First posted
- July 10, 2026
Source and update information
- Source
- ClinicalTrials.gov
- NCT ID
- NCT07696988
- Registry last updated
- August 21, 2026
- QualifiedStudies registry data refreshed
- September 21, 2026
View NCT07696988 on ClinicalTrials.gov
Trial information can change. Confirm current study details with the study team or the registry.
About joining clinical research
Find clinical trials you may match with
QualifiedStudies can help you search for research opportunities related to your health. Availability of this specific study through QualifiedStudies has not been established.
Find clinical trials you may match with | Diabetic Neuropathy studies | Clinical trial FAQ