ME/CFS Brain Fog: Cognitive Rehabilitation Trial
- NCT ID
- NCT07523113
- Registry status
- Recruiting
- Study type
- Not specified in the registry data
- Phase
- Not applicable
- Sponsor
- University of Alabama at Birmingham
Overview
ClinicalTrials.gov lists this study as Recruiting.
Enrollment: 30 participants (Estimated).
What is being studied
No interventions are listed in the registry data.
Who may be eligible
- Ages
- Not specified in the registry data
- Sex
- Not specified in the registry data
- Healthy volunteers accepted
- No
ClinicalTrials.gov lists the following eligibility criteria.
Inclusion Criteria:
* diagnosis of ME/CFS that preceded cognitive complaints
* mild or greater cognitive impairment
* moderate or greater brain fog
* some impairment in the performance of daily activities
* ≥ 18 years, no upper limit if medically stable
* reside in the community (as opposed to a hospital or skilled nursing facility)
* able to travel to the laboratory on multiple occasions
* has Internet service
* has a personal computer, laptop, or tablet that can access the Internet
* sufficiently fit, from both a physical and mental health perspective, to take part in the study
* adequate sight and hearing to complete the UFOV test
* adequate thinking skills, e.g., ability to follow directions and retain information to complete UFOV and CTAL, as marked by the judgement of the screener that the candidate is able to adequately complete the UFOV and CTAL
* sufficient English proficiency (i.e., ability to speak, understand, read, and write to take part in study activities)
Exclusion Criteria:
* cognitive impairment due to a developmental disability, psychiatric disorder, or substance abuse, or due to another type of brain injury, such as traumatic brain injury, stroke, or a progressive brain disease, such as Alzheimer's Dementia
* current substance abuse disorder
* diagnosis of postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS) by a healthcare provider
* prior cognitive processing speed training on DoubleDecision or a similar program
* cannot tolerate taVNS
* prior history of heart attack or other serious cardiac events
* implanted medical device of any type
* vasovagal syncope or history of fainting
* history of seizures or epilepsy
* temporomandibular Joint (TMJ) syndrome or other conditions that cause substantial jaw pain
* history of peripheral nerve injury to the head, neck, or face
* pregnant or breastfeeding
* not able or willing to get an MRI scan
* not able or willing to get a blood draw
Study locations
1 study location is listed.
Site recruitment status is not specified in the registry data for these locations.
Countries: United States
- Alabama, United States: 1
Sample of listed locations
- University of Alabama at Birmingham — Birmingham, Alabama, 35294, United States — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data
Study details
- Start date
- June 23, 2026
- Primary completion date
- June 1, 2027
- First posted
- April 13, 2026
Source and update information
- Source
- ClinicalTrials.gov
- NCT ID
- NCT07523113
- Registry last updated
- August 14, 2026
- QualifiedStudies registry data refreshed
- September 21, 2026
View NCT07523113 on ClinicalTrials.gov
Trial information can change. Confirm current study details with the study team or the registry.
About joining clinical research
Find clinical trials you may match with
QualifiedStudies can help you search for research opportunities related to your health. Availability of this specific study through QualifiedStudies has not been established.
Find clinical trials you may match with | Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (CFS) studies | Clinical trial FAQ