A Study to Evaluate the Effectiveness of IDCT (Intradiscal Cell Therapy) in Subjects With One Level, Symptomatic Mild to Moderate Lumbar Degenerative Disc Disease

NCT ID
NCT07254806
Registry status
Recruiting
Study type
Not specified in the registry data
Phase
Phase 3
Sponsor
DiscGenics, Inc.

Overview

ClinicalTrials.gov lists this study as Recruiting.

Enrollment: 162 participants (Estimated).

What is being studied

No interventions are listed in the registry data.

Who may be eligible

Ages
Not specified in the registry data
Sex
Not specified in the registry data
Healthy volunteers accepted
No

ClinicalTrials.gov lists the following eligibility criteria.

Inclusion Criteria: 1. Has a diagnosis of mild to moderate, symptomatic, single-level degenerative disc disease (DDD) from L3-S1. 2. Has a target disc that meets Modified Pfirrmann Grade 3-7, as determined by a central radiologist. 3. Is ≥18 and ≤75 years of age, skeletally mature, and has a body mass index (BMI) ≥18 kg/m2 and ≤38 kg/m2 at Screening. 4. Has been experiencing chronic low back pain for at least 6 months prior to Screening. 5. Has had low back pain that is unresponsive to at least 3 months of conservative care (nonoperative treatment) to include at least one non-pharmacological intervention which may include physical therapy, acupuncture, chiropractic manipulation, massage, and at home medically supervised exercise program and two pharmacological interventions which may include NSAIDs, acetaminophen, duloxetine, and/or injectable therapy. 6. Has pre-treatment low back pain score of 45 to 90 on VAS (Visual Analogue Scale) for low back pain at Screening and Day 1. 7. Has pre-treatment ODI score of 35 to 90 at Screening and Day 1. 8. Is willing to voluntarily sign the informed consent form and agrees to the release of previous medical history for purposes of this study (i.e., HIPAA authorization) at Screening. 9. Is physically and mentally able to comply with the protocol, able to understand and complete the required forms, and willing and able to adhere to the requirements of the protocol in the opinion of the Investigator. 10. Female-born subjects of childbearing potential must agree to and comply with using highly effective methods of birth control for the duration of the study (e.g., oral contraceptive, implant, injectable, indwelling intrauterine device, sexual abstinence, condoms, or a vasectomized partner).- Exclusion Criteria: Physical/ Medical History Exclusion Criteria 11. Has low back pain that in the Investigator's opinion is predominately myofascial in nature. 12. Has constant, unchanging low back pain that is not improved in any spinal position. 13. Has radiculopathy resulting from nerve compression. 14. Has non-radicular unilateral or bilateral leg pain with intensity greater than 50% of the intensity of the low-back pain, as measured by VAS. 15. Leg pain that is of radicular origin, i.e., due to stimulation of nerve roots or dorsal root ganglion of a spinal nerve by compressive forces. 16. Has frequent leg pain that extends below the knee. 17. Has severe unilateral or bilateral osteoarthritis of the knee or hip. 18. Severe spinal arthritis 19. Has cauda equina syndrome. 20. Has had previous lumbar spine surgery. 21. Has had previous disc invasive treatment procedures (i.e., intradiscal electrothermal therapy, intradiscal radiofrequency thermocoagulation) or intradiscal injections (i.e., injection of corticosteroids, methylene blue, dextrose, or glucosamine and chondroitin sulfate) or diagnostic discography at L3-S1 within the 3 months prior to Screening. 22. Subjects who have had basivertebral nerve ablation at L3-S1. 23. Has clinical suspicion of facet pain as the primary pain generator. 24. Has current infection at the planned procedure site, active systemic infection, or current or prior history of lumbar spinal infection (i.e., discitis, septic arthritis, epidural abscess). 25. Has a history of fibromyalgia. 26. Has tested positive for Hepatitis B virus (HBV), Hepatitis C virus (HCV), or Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV). 27. Has presence of an active malignancy or tumor, or a prior history of malignancy within the last five years (except for basal cell carcinoma of the skin). 28. Has presence or prior history of a spinal malignancy. 29. Has significant systemic disease, such as unstable angina or autoimmune disease, such as rheumatoid arthritis. Has a history of congenital or acquired coagulopathy or thrombocytopenia. 31\. Is currently taking anticoagulant, antiplatelet, or thrombolytic medications (except for aspirin or nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs \[NSAIDS\]) and at the Investigator's medical discernment and discretion is unable to withhold medications for the time required per site standard or care, prior to the IDCT injection or is taking antineoplastic medications. 32\. Is at higher risk for post-surgical infection (e.g., taking immunosuppressants), has a severe infection or a history of serious infection. 33\. Has concomitant conditions requiring daily oral steroid usage for more than 30 days in the preceding 90 days before Screening. 34\. Is taking opioids greater than 20 MME per day on an intermittent (as needed) basis OR is taking 20 MME or greater daily for more than 3 months prior to Screening 35\. Has a history of unexplained, easy, or persistent bruising or bleeding, bleeding from the gums, or bleeding problems experienced in previous surgical procedures. 36\. Has a history of hypersensitivity or anaphylactic reaction to bovine products, sodium hyaluronate/ hyaluronan/ hyaluronic acid, gentamicin, amphotericin b, dimethyl sulfoxide (DMSO), crustaceous/ shellfish, or porcine products. 37\. Has an uncontrolled psychiatric condition or substance/alcohol abuse that would potentially interfere with the subject's participation in the study within 2 years prior to Screening in the opinion of the Investigator. 38\. Has positive serum pregnancy test or nursing at time of Screening or has plans to become pregnant within the planned length of the study (2 years). 39\. Has a body habitus that precludes adequate fluoroscopic visualization for the procedure or the procedure is physically impossible. 40\. Has or requires an implantable electronic defibrillator, pacemaker, or has other contraindication to MRI scanning or cannot tolerate MRI scanning. Subjects who are expected to require a defibrillator or pacemaker, as determined by the Investigator should be excluded. 41\. Has participated in another clinical study within the 6 months prior to Screening. 42\. Has been a recipient or plans to be a recipient during trial participation of stem cell product to treat the lumbar spine. 43\. Has participated in a prior IDCT clinical study. 44\. Has pending litigation against a health care professional, except where required by the insurer as a condition of coverage. 45\. A person who would not be available for the entire planned length of the trial. 46\. Has active or pending worker's compensation claims. 47. In the Investigators opinion, the subject is not suitable for participation in the clinical trial. Imaging Exclusion Criteria: 48\. Three discs (L3-S1) that have a Modified Pfirrmann Grade 4-7. 49\. Has evidence of prior lumbar vertebral body fracture at L3-S1. 50\. Has scoliosis with curvature \> 10 degrees. 51\. Has congenital spinal irregularities such as segmentation. 52\. Has an acute fracture of the spine at the time of enrollment in the study. Clinically compromised vertebral bodies within L3-S1 due to current or past trauma, e.g., sustained pathological fracture or multiple fractures of vertebrae. 53\. Has evidence of dynamic instability on lumbar flexion extension per screening radiographs as indicated by \>4.5 mm of translational motion at L3-S1; \>15° of angular motion at L3/-L4; \>20° of angular motion at L4-L/5; or \>25° angular motion at L5/-S1. 54\. Has Grade 2 or higher spondylolisthesis at L3-S1, as assessed by Meyerding classification. 55\. Has lumbar spondylitis or other undifferentiated spondyloarthropathy. 56\. Has Modic Type III Changes at L3-S1. 57\. Has radiographic evidence or suspicion of a full thickness annular tear at L3-S1. 58\. Has evidence of abnormal disc morphology defined as an extrusion or sequestration according to Fardon classification at L3- S1. 59\. Has herniation \> 3 mm in AP dimension that is associated with nerve root compression.

Study locations

28 study locations are listed.

Site recruitment status is not specified in the registry data for these locations.

Countries: United States

  • Alabama, United States: 1
  • Arizona, United States: 1
  • California, United States: 3
  • District of Columbia, United States: 1
  • Florida, United States: 5
  • Idaho, United States: 2
  • Indiana, United States: 1
  • Kentucky, United States: 1
  • Louisiana, United States: 1
  • Minnesota, United States: 1
  • Missouri, United States: 1
  • New York, United States: 1
  • North Carolina, United States: 2
  • Ohio, United States: 1
  • Oregon, United States: 1
  • Pennsylvania, United States: 1
  • Tennessee, United States: 1
  • Texas, United States: 1
  • Utah, United States: 1
  • Virginia, United States: 1

Sample of listed locations

  • Alabama Clinical Therapeutics — Birmingham, Alabama, 35235, United States — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data
  • Mayo Clinic (AZ) — Phoenix, Arizona, 85054, United States — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data
  • Solaris Research Institute — San Diego, California, 92111, United States — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data
  • Source Healthcare — Santa Monica, California, 90403, United States — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data
  • Pain Management and Injury Relief — Thousand Oaks, California, 91320, United States — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data
  • International Spine, Pain and Performance Center — Washington D.C., District of Columbia, 20006, United States — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data
  • Mayo Clinic (FL) — Jacksonville, Florida, 32224, United States — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data
  • University of Miami Health System — Miami, Florida, 33136, United States — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data
  • Conquest Research — Orlando, Florida, 32832, United States — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data
  • Vantage Clinical Trials — St. Petersburg, Florida, 33709, United States — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data
  • Vantage Clinical Trials — Tampa, Florida, 33709, United States — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data
  • Injury Care Family Care Research — Boise, Idaho, 83709, United States — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data
  • Axis Spine Center — Post Falls, Idaho, 83854, United States — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data
  • Indiana Spine Group — Carmel, Indiana, 46032, United States — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data
  • Norton Leatherman Spine Center — Louisville, Kentucky, 40202, United States — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data
  • Ochsner Health System — New Orleans, Louisiana, 70121, United States — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data
  • Mayo Clinic (MN) — Rochester, Minnesota, 55905, United States — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data
  • The Orthopedic Center of St. Louis — St Louis, Missouri, 63141, United States — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data
  • Weill Cornell Medicine for Comprehensive Spine Care — New York, New York, 10022, United States — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data
  • Wake Research — Wilmington, North Carolina, 28403, United States — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data
  • Carolinas Pain Institute/ Center For Clinical Research — Winston-Salem, North Carolina, 27103, United States — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data
  • Cleveland Clinic — Cleveland, Ohio, 10524, United States — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data
  • Pacific Sports and Spine — Eugene, Oregon, 97404, United States — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data
  • Main Line Spine — King of Prussia, Pennsylvania, 19406, United States — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data
  • Semmes Murphey Neurological Clinic — Memphis, Tennessee, 38120, United States — Site recruitment status not specified in the registry data

Study details

Start date
December 23, 2025
Primary completion date
November 24, 2027
First posted
November 28, 2025

Source and update information

Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
NCT ID
NCT07254806
Registry last updated
September 4, 2026
QualifiedStudies registry data refreshed
September 21, 2026

View NCT07254806 on ClinicalTrials.gov

Trial information can change. Confirm current study details with the study team or the registry.

About joining clinical research

Find clinical trials you may match with

QualifiedStudies can help you search for research opportunities related to your health. Availability of this specific study through QualifiedStudies has not been established.

Find clinical trials you may match with | Low Back Pain studies | Clinical trial FAQ